Fit/Fat Camp: Day 1

To add some spice to my workout routine I joined FitCamps4Chicks with a friend of mine. Today was the first session and it went something like this:

1. Fill out paper work

2. Roll call/introductions

3. Warm up– running in place/high knees

4. Fitness assessments:

  • Crunches– do as many crunches as you can in 60 seconds with ball over your head. Shoulder blades must come off the ground and ball must hit knees. My best: 38 crunches; near the bottom of the pack
  • Wall sit– sit on wall (or, in our case a tree or fence) for as long as you can with your knees in a 90 degree angle above your feet. My best: 3:02; second highest in the group (first highest went to a girl who has done ALL the fit camps, so I’m pretty proud of myself!
  • Running test– run around a fence and then up the big hill at Centennial Park. My best: 39 seconds; fifth highest in the group… a little above average. But, I think the best time was, like, 30 seconds so I did pretty well, considering how much I SUCK at running!

As you can see, I’m pretty competitive and I’m bound and determined to do better on these next time. The camp meets 3x/week for 4 weeks. I’m excited for the next session!

One response to “Fit/Fat Camp: Day 1

  1. Pingback: Toot! Toot! « Carich Blogs

Leave a Reply

