Things that currently bug me, grammar edition

In an effort to prove that I have more things to talk about than running and derby, here are some grammar gripes.   All of them (with the exception of #2) were witnessed in ONE day of facebook postings.  I’d like to copy/paste the postings here, but there’s always a chance  I could embarrass someone and lose a reader.   And I can’t really afford that!

#1–  People who don’t know how to use an apostrophe.  And I’m not talking about whether it’s James or James’.   I’m talking about people putting apostrophes in normal words.  Like Friday’s.   Not the restaurant chain, either.   Like “I have Friday’s off this summer.”   Here’s a handy guide in case you need it:  http://theoatmeal.com/comics/apostrophe/.

#2– The number of times I used “like” in #1.

#3– Nouns as verbs. I get it… let’s Google someone.  Let’s facebook our relationship status.  Whatever.  But people do not verse one another in sporting events.  They PLAY one another.   Verse is a paragraph in poetry or a part of a song.  Not an action. 

#4– Pretending people are your family, when they’re not.  Or calling out one’s relationship when talking directly to them.   Examples:  calling someone a “sister” if they’re not, using the word “girlfriend” to describe a female friend, referring to a group of unrelated people (coworkers, teammates) as a family.  (I realize this isn’t technically a grammar issue, but roll with it).

#5– Extraneous letters, especially the letter ‘d.’    It’s congratulations or congrats, not congradulations or congrads.  Yes, even if the person who is being congratulated happens to be a graduate.  Also, just because we shorten it to “fridge,” doesn’t mean there’s a d in refrigerator.

Note 2:  I’m sure there are typos/grammatical errors in this post.  Feel free to point them out.  I deserve it.

2 responses to “Things that currently bug me, grammar edition

  1. lol.
    i don’t like it went people say that they seen him/her yesterday. you didn’t seen them, you saw them yesterday.

  2. I agree Suzanne. I could (and probably should) do an entire post on people using the wrong words. My most recent annoyance is people getting then/than mixed up.

    Really? It’s that hard?

Leave a Reply

