I heart the 90s

Thursday, December 20, 2007

I heart the 90s!

A friend of mine recently told me that bloggers shouldn’t worry about audience, they should just write what they want and hope people like it. Since maybe one day I’ll be a *real* blogger, I figured I’d try that approach and post a few things I’ve been thinking about… I can’t tell you how many times I’ve started to write something and thought “Why would anyone want to read this?” Maybe you don’t, but here it is anyway…

I heart the 90’s

So, I’ve been watching VH1’s 100 Greatest Songs of the 90’s because a) I love VH1 b) I love the 90’s and c) I’ll watch *any* kind of countdown show… there’s just something about having things in rank order that is appealing to me. But I digress…

I’m totally digging the show ‘cuz I know at least 98% of the songs and find myself jumping on iTunes to download the tracks. But… it’s also making me feel old. Did you realize, for example, that it’s been FIFTEEN years since Tom Petty’s “Into the Great Wide Open”? It seems like only yesterday that I was lusting after Johnny Depp in that video. Some things never change!

Although the show hasn’t wrapped yet, you can find the full list here. No surprise that “Smells Like Teen Spirit” is the 1 song of the 90s. Although I’d argue there are much better Nirvana songs, I’d say they made the right pick. It’s such an iconic 90’s song that if they’d chosen anything else, I would have been shocked.

However, I take issue with their choice for 3. Although the Backstreet Boys kick-started the whole boy-band craze, I think “Nuthin but a G Thang” would’ve been a better choice. I don’t know *anyone* who didn’t have a copy of The Chronic back in the day… and Dr. Dre’s influence on hip-hop and music in general is undeniable.

As I look through this list I see so many songs that bring back so many memories that it’s hard to pick favorites, but my top 5 favorites would be:

  1. Smells Like Teen Spirit, Nirvana: First time I heard this song, I was hooked. I was in 7th grade and listening to ZRock late at night. Most of the time they played hard rock music, but after about 10 p.m. they played “weird” stuff. Stuff with a completely different sound. I remember writing down the name of this song and buying the single the next day. I’d then listen to it on my Discman (remember those?) all night until I fell asleep. I never really knew what they were saying or what the words meant, but there was something about the raw emotion on that record that really resonated with me… and still does to this day.
  2. Enter Sandman, Metallica: Bow-now-now-now-now…ba..bow-now-now-now-now. Just the opening baseline of this song makes me wanna bang my head and get out the black eyeliner. I think I was in 5th or 6th grade when this song came out and only ‘grits’ were listening to heavy metal. This song was just so HOOKY, though. It allowed everyone to have a bit of a rebellious side. This song is also in heavy rotation on my iPod and makes a kick-ass workout song.
  3. You Oughta Know, Alanis Morrisette: This song came out the summer before my senior year in high school when I thought I knew it all about boys. Red and I would drive around screaming “Do you think of me when you FUCK her” as loud as we could and really thought we knew what angst was…. Lord, to be that naïve again. I still listen to this song when I need some old fashioned scream therapy.
  4. Losing My Religion, REM: Again, no flippin CLUE what this song meant… but it had a great hook and the lead singer was flailing around in the video. While singing about flailing around. I still listen to this song every time it comes on the radio or on my random shuffle.
  5. Jeremy, Pearl Jam: You know, I was such a big Nirvana fan that I didn’t really pay attention to Pearl Jam until probably college. But that video for Jeremy is burned into my brain. Years before the whole Columbine thing, these guys really had some powerful imagery. And Eddie Vedder is just cool.

So, those are my picks. I’m not saying they’re the most influential on music or that they’re necessarily even the best songs, but they definitely represented the 90’s to me.

Honorable mentions go to: Under the Bridge (Blood Sugar Sex Magic is still one of my all-time fave albums), Baby Got Back (reminds me of detassling corn with Kevin Morris & Josh Bryant… plus, gets booties shakin’ on the dance floor to this day!), Nuthin’ But a G Thang (Adam & Josh’s apartment in HS… need I say more????), and Whatta Man (Salt N Peppa at their best!)

One response to “I heart the 90s

  1. Pingback: Oh well, whatever. Nevermind. « Carich Blogs

Leave a Reply

