Mr. Right . . . Not Mr. Right Now!

First published: Monday, May 21, 2007

Mr. Right… Not Mr. Right Now!
Category: Romance and Relationships

So, for those of you who know me (and some of you who don’t), you know that my track record in the love department isn’t exactly stellar.  I’ve dated a lot of  “Mr. Right Now” types, meaning that they were fun for a while, but definitely not “keeper” material. 

To try to remedy this, I’ve made a list of characteristics Mr. Right should have.  Obviously, some of these traits are more crucial than others (like, not having a wife/GF/significant other) while others are more like icing on the cake (will let me eat off his plate).

So, here, in no particular order are the traits I’d like to see in the future Mr. Cari Rich:

  • Doesn’t have a wife/girlfriend/significant other  (Crucial!)
  • Is college-educated
  • Has a job
  • Respects women
  • Can get along with my family
  • Is tall-ish
    (preferably 6′ or taller, but I’m willing to bend on this one)
  • Isn’t an alcoholic/drug addict
  • Likes my dog
  • Is comfortable going out w/my friends OR staying in
  • Isn’t intimidated by me
  • Adventurous—likes to try new things
  • Likes to travel
  • Smart
  • Isn’t sleeping with/married to/dating one of my friends
  • Caring
  • Good cook
  • Well-read (or at least *has* read a book!)
  • Is handy around the house; knows how to fix things
    (I still need some blinds hung, BTW)
  • Good fashion sense… but not too much
  • Doesn’t cheat
  • Isn’t a player
  • Calls when he says he will (I realize this is a near-impossiblity in the male species, but it doesn’t hurt to try!)
  • Is proud of me
  • Is not hung up on appearances/looks, but takes care of himself
  • Good kisser
  • Sexual chemistry (hey—I’m honest, it’s important!)
  • Enjoys music
  • Is financially responsible
  • Is ambitious
  • Is outgoing
  • Is affectionate in private & in public
  • Doesn’t have kids or an ex-wife
    (again, negotiable, but it’s ideal if there’s no baggage)
  • Someone I can learn from
  • Confident
  • Wants a family
  • Is open-minded
  • Loves me for who I am
  • Is not judgmental
  • Likes to dance
  • Has an even temper (‘cuz we all know I don’t!)
  • Likes to dance, but doesn’t have to be a GREAT dancer
  • Has talent
  • Has a decent body… doesn’t have to be perfect, but should take care of himself
  • Isn’t looking to change me
  • Will take out the trash
  • Has hobbies
  • Isn’t too clingy
  • Wants to get married– but not immediately
  • Has morals
  • Is 35 or younger
  • Has a good relationship with his family
  • Is hard-working and dependable
  • Has manners
  • Fun-loving
  • Will let me eat off his plate
  • Is supportive
  • Gives me compliments
  • Remembers my birthday
  • Doesn’t rely on me for his emotional/physical well-being
  • Can be sensitive, but is typically strong
  • Will laugh at my cheesy jokes
  • Thinks I’m the greatest
  • Has a license AND a car… doesn’t have to be a nice car, but I have no desire to drive anyone around!
  • OMG– I almost forgot:  He *must* be funny!
  • Will make a good dad one day

That’s only a partial list…. You don’t think it’s too much to ask, do you?   What other traits should I be looking for that I’ve missed?

So now it’s up to each and every one of you—my mySpace friends—to be on the lookout for Mr. Right, so that I don’t fall for yet another Mr. Wrong!

One response to “Mr. Right . . . Not Mr. Right Now!

  1. The dog part might require compromise such as a cage, fenced in backyard, or even a muzzle!!

    It worries me a little knowing you are running through this checklist every time you meet a random guy. I wonder what you thought the first time you met me…

Leave a Reply

