When the Levees Broke

On to my day.  Not a great diet day.  Too many carbs.  Boredom is the enemy of dieting. I’m eating entirely too much food and not exercising enough (or in the case of this week… not at all)

I *finally* got around to watching Disc 1 of the Spike Lee documentary on Hurricane Katrina When the Levees Broke. I’ve had it for over a year.  Seriously, since February 2007.   Just like the first time I tried to watch it, I fell asleep about halfway through the first act.  But this time I actually finished it.  Probably because I’m going to New Orleans next week.

I’m ashamed to admit it, but I somehow managed to skim over the horrendousness of Katrina.  Yeah, I knew it happened, but I wasn’t really engaged in how much these people struggled (and continue to struggle). I think I gave $20 to save the displaced pets, but didn’t really think about the amount of human suffering.  I guess that was Spike Lee’s point.  While all these people were literally fighting for their lives, other people in America (most notably the president) were going about their lives as if it were business as usual.

Leave a Reply

