“Going Green” makes me want to puke!

I am soooooooo sick of the “Going Green” fad right now.   Don’t get me wrong, I agree with the principle behind it.  I just don’t like the trendiness of it.

I’m not exactly a tree-hugger, but I recycle.  I have florescent light bulbs in my house, even though they make me look like a ghost.  I have a non-motorized lawn mower, which results in LOTS of funny looks and laughs from my friends.  I’m considering getting one of those re-usable cloth bags for my groceries.  I started quietly using recycled paper on my big projects at work, nearly a year before our leadership decided to make it a priority.  

But when I see a WAL-MART commercial encouraging people to buy GE light bulbs, it sends me over the edge.

On one hand, I commend Wal-mart for trying to encourage energy consumption.  On the other hand, I can’t help but think it’s just some sort of co-marketing agreement between Wal-mart and GE to help sell more light bulbs. 

Even worse, I’m sick of the “go paperless” messages in my bills.  Especially from the power company.   “Save a stamp, save a tree by paying online.”  Okay, fine.  I prefer to pay bills online.  But, the POWER company is going to tell me how to save the planet?  REALLY?

I’m all for being responsible when it comes to the environment. I just don’t like Big Business to tell me how to do it.  If Wal-mart gets more people to care about the environment, great.  But if they’re just doing it to sell light bulbs, it offends my liberal sensibilities.   

 

Cognitive dissonance at its best.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

