Weight Loss TV

So, after writing the extremely lame last post, I plopped my fat ass on the couch to watch TV.  I was flipping back and forth between VH1s Celebrity Fit Club Boot Camp (or whatever it’s called) and the National Body Challengeon the Discovery Channel.   I’ve also watched The Biggest Loser sporadically over the last few years.

I can’t quite decide how I feel about these shows.  On one hand, they’re supposed to be inspirational.  And sometimes are.  On the other hand it’s kinda like watching an anti-smoking commercial and getting the craving for a cigarette.

Celebrity Fit Club is by far the worst of the bunch.  These are spoiled quasi-celebs who are just doing it for a) the paycheck or b) the notoriety.  I haven’t really followed this latest season and I’m not 100% sure who the “celebrities” are, but one of them admitted to doing it for the money and another for the fame.  Except Tina Youthers.  She rocks.

This is the first time I’ve watched National Body Challenge, but it seems to have fairly good advice and realistic goals.  They’re doing a twin thing right now.  Wonder if my brother would want to go on.  He’s packed on the pounds recently and I *guarantee* this is something I could do better than him…ahahah!

As for The Biggest Loser, well… it’s inspirational alright.  EVERYONE on that show starts out bigger than I am and I figure if they can do it, so can I.  But if past seasons are any indicator, they don’t have a whole lot of success keeping the weight off once they leave the “ranch” or the “campus” or whatever they’re calling it these days.

At any rate, I have one week before leaving for a business trip, so I’ll just make it my goal to work out at least 5 times.  This should a) ensure I get my ass off the couch and b) drag me out of my current funk.

Leave a Reply

