Bye Bye Bootcamp :(

Remember back in my Choosing Topics post where I mentioned that sometimes posts start with just a title? This is one of those posts.

The original  title of this post came to my while working out. Since starting boot camp, I’ve pretty much neglected the gym.  But I recently decided to start training for a 5K, so I’ve been forcing myself to go back.  And you know what?  I kinda missed it!

So, I was going to write a post called “My Love/Hate Affair with the Gym” and I was going to explain to that, even though I love boot camp, I’m looking forward to getting back to the gym full-time this winter.  How it’s closer, cheaper, and more convenient than boot camp.   How the gym is a solitary experience.  A chance to put on my iPod, work on personal goals and tune everything else out

And then our boot camp leader, Bobbi, dropped a bomb. 

She’s leaving.  No more boot camp after October!

It came as quite a blow to many of us.  As much as I was looking forward to a reprieve from boot camp this winter, I wanted to be able to go back to it in the Spring.   

Unlike the gym, boot camp is a social experience.  Yeah, we work hard, but the women in my group are like friends. We’ve spent 3 days a week together for the last 4 months.  We know about each other’s jobs and families and we support one another throughout the workouts.  Although I might recognize people from the gym, I don’t know them—I don’t say hi when I see them around town.  Hell, I don’t even know most of their names.

And then, there’s Bobbi.  She’s a great trainer and leader.  She puts up with a lot of complaining from us and helps us stay on track.  She varies the workouts so that we don’t get bored and keeps us accountable by scheduling workouts 3x a week. 

I guess the old adage is true:  You don’t know what you’ve got until it’s gone.  These last 6 weeks of boot camp will be bittersweet.  Yeah, I can find other classes to take.  And I might even be more devoted to running if I don’t have boot camp to “distract” me.  But I’m gonna miss it nonetheless!

3 responses to “Bye Bye Bootcamp :(

  1. Wow. That is big news. This should make you feel better: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nUA0ai0XxRU . See you at the 5K!

  2. Hmm. . . if only your love for working out was contagious via blog. . . .

  3. I teared up a little bit reading this. My life will be over when Bobbi leaves, not really, but let’s pretend!

Leave a Reply

