Foto Friday: Broken Foot Edition

I was looking through old pictures to find photos of my college buddies for this week’s Website Wednesday when I came across this photo.  Although the quality of the photograph is poor, it’s a perfect choice for Foto Friday due to the story that surrounds it.

It was Spring Break 2000 in Panama City, Florida. Some girlfriends and I rented a beach house that technically not supposed to be rented out to students. Oops!

On our second-to-last night there, we went to a dance club. I was wearing a short denim skirt, a sleeveless shirt and some wedge sandals I had borrowed from Stephanie (seen here lounging in the background). A bnunch of us were dancing on stage and I decided I’d had enough. I grabbed my friend’s hand and as I was stepping down, my shoe caught on the stage and I fell.

It was like a scene from a movie—I fell in slow motion, the music stopped and *everyone* was staring. I grabbed my ankle (yes, while wearing a skirt) and laid there for a minute. I got up, sat down for a while and did a couple shots. My ankle hurt, but I was able to put weight on it, so I continued dancing the rest of the night.

We got back to the beach house and went to bed. I woke up in the middle of the night to my ankle throbbing with pain. I needed to use the bathroom and had to crawl down the hall Lieutenant Dan-style. The next morning, my friends took me to the local hospital where I discovered that, yes– my foot was broken.

I spent the rest of my vacation laying on the couch with my foot up (as seen here) or in a modified lawn chair sunk into the sand on the beach.

The worst part, however, was the 14-hour car ride home, laying in the backseat with my foot up.  I’m sure it was worse for my friends, though, who had to listen to me complain of boredom the whole time!

Leave a Reply

