101 Weird Food Quirks

This is my 101st post on this blog.  Some people celebrate 100 posts by listing 100 things about themselves.   Since I’m me, I’ve decided to take it a slightly different direction and list 101 food “quirks”– my likes, dislikes and all around weird habits.   This is by no means a comprehensive list, but gives you a little peek into the weirdness that is me!

1.    I don’t like my food to touch.
2.    I like cheese. I like chicken. I do not like cheese on chicken.
3.    Similarly, I like cheese. I like peanut butter.  But I do not like them together.  Those little cheese and PB crackers are especially problematic.
4.    As a rule, I don’t eat white, creamy foods such as sour cream, cream cheese, whipped cream, etc.  I’ll occasionally eat mayonnaise and I can handle some of these things mixed in. Just not on their own.
5.    I won’t eat eggs unless they’re made at home.
6.    I can’t stand breakfast skillets.
7.    I often ask for a 2nd plate at a restaurant so that I can pick off all the stuff I don’t like and separate it.  Also good for ensuring non-touching food.
8.    I only like French dressing that is red.  The orange variety scares me.
9.    I always eat the topping off my pizza first.  Topping, cheese, then crust (preferabbly with a fork if it’s deep dish)
10.    I cannot stand mushrooms.  I’ve tried to like them, but I just can’t.
11.    I don’t eat any form of fried fish.
12.    I don’t like “meat on plate.” I don’t really eat that much meat to begin with, but the idea of a slab of meat just sitting there grosses me out. I will occasionally have a steak or pork chops, but very rarely.
13.    I hate almost all picnic food– potato salad, bean salad, macaroni salad, chicken salad, egg salad.  This is probably tied to my dislike of white, creamy foods.  I can eat  vinegar-based pasta salads, sometimes.
14.    I don’t like Mexican restaurants.
15.    I don’t like Chinese restaurants, but I like Thai food.  And Japanese food.  And Vietnamese food.
16.    I don’t like most cooked vegetables, especially carrots and green peppers.  I’ll eat green peppers in stir fry.
17.    I love almost all raw vegetables.
18.    I don’t drink milk.  Ever.  I’ll use it in cooking if I have to. And I’ll put the tiniest bit on my cereal, but I cannot stand the taste of milk.
19.    I don’t drink brown soda before noon.  If I absolutely have to drink soda in the morning, I’ll have Sprite or Fresca or something.
20.    I literally cannot live without peanut butter.
21.    I eat stir fry 3-4 times a week.  Even though I don’t usually like food that touches.
22.    I’m allergic to fresh tomatoes, but can eat them cooked.
23.    I like sushi.
24.    I never salt my food.  Ever. I can taste the slightest bit of salt in things and I don’t like it.
25.    I cannot pass up a milkshake.  Except from a fast food place.  Those are gross.
26.    I can’t stand iceberg lettuce.
27.    Potato buds + can of chicken noodle soup = instant comfort food.
28.    I love frozen marshmallows.
29.    The mere sight of egg yolks grosses me out. I especially can’t stand when people dip things in them (i.e. toast)
30.    I like almost all fruit. Except blueberries.  I only like them in muffins.
31.    I love bananas, but can’t stand anything banana-flavored.
32.    I prefer fruity snacks– Twizzlers, gummi bears, fruit sorbet, Skittles, Starburst– over sweet treats.
33.    I only like store-bought cake.  Homeade cake just doesn’t do it for me.
34.    I despise chilli.
35.    I just recently started eating beans, but I refuse to eat re-fried beans.
36.    I don’t like hummus or chickpeas
37.    I do like lentils
38.    I don’t like avocados or guacamole
39.    I love ice cream, but I don’t like ice cream bars. The hard chocolate coating grosses me out.
40.    When I’m at home, I use a bowl for almost everything. I rarely use plates.
41.    I don’t really like tunafish. Or casseroles.  Or mushrooms, but I like my mom’s tuna noodle casserole, which contains both of these things.
42.    My grandma makes great homemade black raspberry pie, but my mom’s cherry pie is my favorite.
43.    I despise pumpkin pie.
44.    I despise yams and sweet potatoes, but I’ll eat sweet potato fries in a pinch.
45.    I love to eat raw dough—bread dough, pie dough, cookie dough, batters, etc.
46.    I like a lot of seafood, but I’ll only eat two types of shrimp: cocktail and popcorn (highly breaded and fried)
47.    My mom used to make us “walking salad” when we were younger:  Mix peanut butter and grape jelly together.  Roll it up in a lettuce leaf.  Sounds disgusting, but we loved it.
48.    I hate onion rings.
49.    I love corn dogs.
50.    I refuse to eat at buffets. I’ll do a salad bar, but that’s as far as I’ll go.
51.    I don’t like meat in my pasta sauce.  Unless my mom makes it.
52.    I can’t stand tomato juice.  For this reason, I do not drink Bloody Marys.
53.    I don’t like coconut or coconut-flavored anything.  Pina Coladas are OUT.
54.    I’m not a huge fan of “girly” drinks—daiquiris, margaritas, etc.
55.    I prefer red wine over white and I prefer dry wine over sweet.
56.    I can’t stand Kahlua or Baileys.  I think it’s related to my dislike of creamy things and milk.
57.    I do, however, LOVE chocolate milk.
58.    I only drink “good” draft beer.  Bud Light or Miller Lite from a keg makes me gag.
59.    I love macaroni and cheese:  homemade, Kraft powder, Kraft Shells and Cheese, Deluxe.  But not with bacon. Or broccoli.  Or tuna. Yuk.
60.    I don’t like ranch dressing.  The only way I’ll eat it is on baby carrots.
61.    I love the combination of coffee and chocolate.  I use mocha-flavored Splenda in my coffee and my very favorite chocolate bar is flavored with espresso.
62.    Peanut Butter Capt’n Crunch is my all-time favorite cereal.
63.    Honey Nut Cheerios or Raisin Bran are my favorite ‘grown up’ cereals.
64.    9 times out of 10, I’ll order French toast if I go out for breakfast.  The other time I’ll get biscuits and gravy.
65.    I love toast: cinnamon toast, peanut butter and honey toast, butter toast, jelly toast.
66.    My favorite juices are (in order): cranberry, grape, pomegranate, apple, orange (w/o pulp. I refuse to drink pulp.)
67.    I hate olives.  I don’t really like olive oil that much, either, but I’ll use it if I have to.
68.    I don’t like fried dough– donuts, elephant ears, funnel cakes.  All gross to me.
69.    I don’t really like powdered sugar, either… come to think of it.  But, I’ll eat powdered donuts.  Odd.
70.    Fat-free cheese should be outlawed.
71.    I rarely order burgers at restaurants.  The exception is the Kobe burger at Farren’s.
72.    If there’s one of the following on a menu, I’m likely to order it:  grilled chicken sandwich, club sandwich, chicken fingers, mixed green salad with blue cheese, walnuts, and strawberries (certainly there’s a fancier name for this– every restaurant has some version on it’s menu.)
73.    Going out for tapas is one of my favorite things in the world.  Believe it or not, I love trying new things. I just don’t want to commit to them if I don’t like it!
74.    My ultimate candy bar/soda combo is a Snickers bar and Mountain Dew (well, now it’s usually Snickers minis and a Diet Dewski– getting old and fat sucks)
75.    I like my bananas GREEN.  Like REALLY green.  Like still kinda hard on the inside.
76.    I like sausage links, but not patties.
77.    I only eat bacon if it is super extra crispy.
78.    Same goes for thin crust pizza. I always order it “well done.”
79.    When I was younger, I didn’t like cake or pie, so I would eat a BOWL of Cool Whip. Probably why I hate white creamy things.
80.    I’ve been known to eat cold hot dogs.
81.    I like sugar on my cottage cheese.
82.    I also like chives in my cottage cheese.
83.    I L-O-V-E brat burgers with mustard.
84.    My friends make fun of me because I often show up to gatherings with unprepared food (i.e. uncut cheese and crackers)
85.    I like to eat stale Cheetos (the puffy kind, not crunchy)
86.    My favorite Easter candy is Peeps. I like to leave them out so they get stale.
87.    I love those little orange and black peanut butter taffy things they have at Halloween time.
88.    I like having breakfast food for dinner.
89.    I don’t eat crunchy peanut butter.
90.    I like broth-based soups, but not creamy soups.
91.    I don’t eat hard-shelled tacos.
92.    My mom’s lasagna is my favorite food ever.
93.    I only like green apples.
94.    I can’t stand canned cranberry sauce.
95.    My family eats cornbread IN milk.  A glass of milk with a piece of cornbread in it.  I refuse to eat this, but I love corn bread.
96.    I can’t stand creamed corn.
97.    I don’t eat cooked spinach, unless it’s in soup or stuffed in something.
98.    I love everything gummy… and everything sour.  Sour gummy worms are my favorite.
99.    I like those orange circus peanut things.
100.    I order my steak medium rare
101.    With the exception of wine, I really can’t eat and drink (alcohol) at the same time.

5 responses to “101 Weird Food Quirks

  1. Congratulations on your 101st post! That’s great. I knew many of these food quirks but some were brand new to me. And it also shows how opposite you and I are :) I think I went against many of your things tonight. For example, I had olives in my Bloody Mary and I have a Bailey’s now. But we can meet in the middle for sushi and tappas!

    Have a great weekend – lisa

  2. I have so many things that I could comment on. . . I’m totally with you on some things. . . but not on other things. Here is the biggest difference between you are I:

    4. As a rule, I don’t eat white, creamy foods such as sour cream, cream cheese, whipped cream, etc. I’ll occasionally eat mayonnaise and I can handle some of these things mixed in. Just not on their own.

    Sour cream, cream cheese, whipped cream, and ranch dressing. . . are entire food groups for me.

  3. Angela Reinhart

    I’m loving this….thank you!

    Now you need to do a follow up of “101 things I will eat” – ha!

  4. Hannah– you probably don’t agree with #60, either!!

    Angela– There’s plenty of stuff on that list that I like: cheese, peanut butter, sour gummy worms…ahahah!

  5. Unbelievably, of your 101 things, I’d say about 25 of them are totally me. My husband makes fun of me for so much.

    For instance: 1. Nothing can touch. I use sectioned plates at home for dinner, I kid you not. There are very, very few exceptions to this rule. For instance mashed potatoes could touch corn but nothing else.

    77, I will put bacon in the oven and leave it in there for a long time. When it comes out, if it doesn’t snap in pieces, it’s underdone.

    18. I won’t even put it on my cereal. I eat it dry. If I have to cook with milk, I only use skim.

    There are a bunch. Crazy how similar we are! I’m showing this list to Sean because he thinks I’m a freak.

Leave a Reply

