San Antonio Stories, Part 1: Strangers on a Plane

I’ve been back from San Antonio for almost 2 weeks and I still haven’t blogged about it.  I had planned on doing a single post-San Antone wrap-up, but it’s just not happening.    Therefore, I’ll try to post the highlights separately. 

First up: the plane ride there!

Believe it or not, I actually DON’T like to talk to people on planes (surprising, I know!).  So, when I saw that I was sitting next to this frat-boy type (track pants, Texas A&M pullover), I promptly turned on my iPod and opened a book.

Turns out, this guy *is* a talker and I ended up having a great conversation with him.  He owns a software company based in Argentina and was doing some work in Danville.  He had spent quite a bit of time in San Antonio and gave me some restaurant tips (which I was unable to use) and I gave him the name of my very fave place in New Orleans.  

We talked for the duration of the 3 hour flight about everything—travelling, family, music, college football.   He told me all about Argentina and said he writes a blog about his experiences while traveling.  In perfect “missed opportunity” fashion, I never asked for the blog address.  Or his last name.   (Chill your jets, kids, he’s married—this isn’t a love connection).

At one point in the conversation, he asked me what year I graduated from college.  He said he graduated in the same year.  Here is this guy who owns his own software company, has travelled the world and frequently gets booked as a speaker at conventions and he’s the EXACT SAME AGE as I am. 

Eek. Nothing like meeting a stranger on a plane to make you feel like a big ole loser!

2 responses to “San Antonio Stories, Part 1: Strangers on a Plane

  1. Hey, at least it wasn’t a boring flight. I’ve only been on a trip by myself once. I’m a bit of a nervous flier. I get on planes when I have to, but I don’t love it. So there I am at O’Hare getting ready to fly to London in the middle of a torrential thunder/hail storm. All flights are grounded AFTER we board. We sat at the gate for 4 hours. For security reasons we couldn’t get off the plane. I’m freaking out because of the storm anyway when the guy next to me turns and says “Hello! I’m Mike. I’m flying to Berlin via London.” I said “Hello, I’m Kelli, and I’m sorry.” I explained that I was nervous anyway before the storm . He was very nice. Finally the pilot said “Ok, we’re sending out a test flight to the north. If they say it’s better, we’ll be taking off shortly.” I told Mike “Thank God I’m not on that plane. Who wants to be on the test flight?” We actually had a nice conversation when we weren’t sleeping since our evening flight had become a red-eye.

  2. Yeah! You are back in action!

    I’m a huge plane talker. . . yes *shock*. . . and in Texas, this is not a difficult thing, as people tend to be so open and friendly. My flights when I lived in New England. . . not so much!

    I have met some of the most amazing and inspiring people!

Leave a Reply

