Interview with a Vampire-lover

I stole this idea from illini_girl, but it’s been a while since I’ve done one.  And I have so many random things to discuss.

Are you really too busy to blog?  What’s that all about?

Honestly, yes.  And no. It’s not that I’m too busy to blog. It’s that I’ve spent a lot of time away from the computer, so my blogging time has been limited.

Are you done with your regular Wednesday posts?  What about Foto Friday?

Yeah, I think I’m giving up Website/Wordy Wednesdays. It’s just too much of a commitment and I have kinda run out of things to talk about. I’ll keep Foto Friday, though.  But I gotta start taking more pix.  Seems like I have to dig through the archives more often than not these days.

Are you becoming a professional dog sitter?

I’m thinking about it.  Last week, I watched my mom’s two dogs-Desi and Lucy- at my house.   And this week I’ve been dog-sitting Knee at a friend’s house.  Thus, the lack of night-time Internet access.

Knee?  That’s an awfully strange name for a dog isn’t it?

Yeah, it’s short for Anfernee (you know… like Anfernee Hardaway, the bball player). But she’s the sweetest dog ever.  Oh, yeah, Knee’s a girl.

So, what’s up with this “re-training” of Roxie business?

I won’t bore you with the details, but basically Roxie has a “dominance” issue.  And she’s spoiled.  To help break her of this, I’m re-training her to sleep in her crate instead of in my bed.

What made you decide to do this?  How did you know what to do?

Well, the final straw was when Roxie scratched my friend in the face for getting too close to me.  But it really needed to be done.  

I did some research online and then I called into Afternoon Magazine on WILL FM.  They had experts on from the Dog Training Club of Champaign-Urbana.  You can listen to it online at http://will.illinois.edu/afternoonmagazine/monthly/2008/12/.  (Click on the Friday, December 5 archive. I’m at about minute 28 or so).  

They gave me some good advice, so I got a crate and started re-training  on a Monday.

How’s that working for you?

So far, so good.  The first few nights were pretty intense.  She barked for HOURS.  But she’s getting used to it now.  I’m not sure she’s any less “protective” of me, though.  That remains to be seen.

Hmmm… So, did you really lock your keys in your car?  Will you *ever* learn?

Actually, I locked both sets of keys in my car.  It was late at night while I was dogsitting and I wasn’t sure what to do. I could call someone to come pick me up, but my spare set was in the car.  I finally remembered that I had Roadside Assistance on my phone. I called them and they told me it would be 90 minutes. Ugh.  Luckily, they came in about 20 mins and all was well. 

Plus, I had a full tank of gas AND the car wasn’t running.  Score!

What’s this 30 days of 30 business?  Who do you think you are– Morgan Spurlock?

No, I’m clearly not trying to be the next Spurlock.  His goatee alone make him superior to me.   The 30 days of 30 is my way of trying to cope with the fact that in a few short weeks I will be–gasp– 30 years old.   The idea is to have friends and family each sign up for one day on the 30 days leading up to my birthday.  

Some of the slots are already filled, but I’m still looking for some takers.  Anyone, anyone? It doesn’t necessarily have to be a night “out,” we could do something fun. In fact, one of my work friends even suggested that I take her exercise class on her day. 

Speaking of exercises…. Here’s a question from the mailbag:  “I noticed that you didn’t list ‘working out’ as one of the things you’ve been busy doing. Ha!”– Bobbi

You noticed right Bobbi. That’s because I’ve been averaging about 2 workouts/week since boot camp ended.  It’s pathetic, I know.  Bobbi has put together  12 Days of Holiday Fitness Fury workouts.   I haven’t tried them yet ‘cuz I’m a big ole loser (and not in the good Biggest Loser kind of way), but I will.  Maybe some of my blog readers might want to check them out.

I’m commiting myself to run in the Illinois Marathon this April.  Note that I said run in the marathon, not run the whole thing.  I’m shooting for the 10K race.  I need to start training. Pronto.  If anyone wants to join me, let me know. I could use a training buddy.

So, you ready for Christmas?

Yeah, I suppose. I have presents purchased, but not wrapped.  Christmas cards went out this week.  I don’t really have much Christmas spirit these days.  I am excited to celebrate with my brother and sister-in-law this weekend though.  Should be a good time.

I’m mostly just looking forward to Christmas Break.  We get the week between Christmas and New Year’s off, so that’s nice.  And I’ll get to see some friends I haven’t seen in a while, which is always a plus.

How’s work going?

Ugh. Next question.   Seriously, though, it’s fine.  There are lots of changes right now and it’s a bit stressful, but there are certainly worse things in the world. I’m thankful that I have a job in a field that I enjoy and I get to work with some pretty cool people.

Got anything else to share?

Actually, yes.  If anyone ever tells you that you get one “free pass” on the toll roads near Chicago, don’t believe them.  My brother told me this over the summer so when we went to visit some friends we accidentally drove through the iPass lane.  We thought we were fine because of the one free pass policy and did it on the way back as well.  And once again on the way to (or maybe from?) NKOTB a couple months ago.

Guess what I got in the mail?  A ticket for over $60.  Apparently there’s a $20 fine on every $0.80 toll you skip.  Awesome.

Wow, that sucks.  Uh… Read any good books lately?

Actually, yes.  I got sucked into the Twilight saga.  I intentionally avoided these books because I thought they were just fluffy teen romances.   And then I started watching True Blood and got bit (pun intended) by the vampire craze.   I read the first book, Twilight,  and you know what?  It’s a fluffy teen romance!  But I liked it.  A lot.  I asked Santa for the other three books.  I hope I get them.

I’m also hoping to read the Southern Vampire series by Charlaine Harris, the books on which True Blood are based.

One last question:  How’s the love life going these days?  Anything interesting going on in that department.

Nice try.  Like I’m gonna talk about that on this blog.  Seriously.

3 responses to “Interview with a Vampire-lover

  1. i’m on the waitlist for the twilight book series too at our library (i can’t bring myself to buy it). i’m something like #400 right now. i love your 30 days of 30…i could have used that last april.

  2. I loved when illini_girl did this and now when you did it too! Love the doggie Christmas card – too cute!

    Hope you have a great weekend.

  3. We skipped a toll on the way *to* NKOTB, not on the way home, remember how panicked Regina was driving in the traffic, don’t blame me for her mistakes, just kidding!

Leave a Reply

