I Love Janet

Okay, so I’m not going to blog about each of my 30 days of 30.  But today was truly special, so it deserves it’s own shout-out.  Today was Janet’s day.  She’s is one of my favorite co-workers.  She doesn’t do anything just halfway so I knew there’d be some fun stuff in store for me.

The Button:  A couple years ago at our Annual Convention, one of the exhibitors was giving away these “I Love Janet” buttons.  Of course we all had to grab some for ourselves and wear them around.  

janet

So, imagine my amusement when I saw this on my desk when I got to work  this morning: (It says: “How could it be?  Cari is nearly 30. We love Cari!”)

button

The Gift:  On the way to lunch, Janet gave me a present wrapped in what else– a brochure that I  produced a couple years ago.  Janet said she doesn’t really like the idea of wrapping paper, and what better packaging than to use my own work?  Genius!

100_1909

100_1912

The gift itself was a copy of a book called Same Kind of Different As Me: A Modern-Day Slave, an International Art Dealer, and the Unlikely Woman Who Bound Them Together.  It’s a book she’s read with some other people and said it reminded her of me because when she thinks of me she thinks of trying to change the world.  That might be one of the nicest things anyone has ever said to me.

The food:   We had a wonderful lunch at Escobar’s (Spinach salad with a cup of chicken gumbo– highly recommended) and then went to Cakes on Walnut for a cupcake-to-go (carrot cake, which was consumed before I left work).

I’ve thoroughly enjoyed all the events of my 30 days thus far and I appreciated Janet’s thoughtfulness and creativity.  Maybe I should turn 30 more often!!

One response to “I Love Janet

  1. I saw her wearing her version of the button this morning. Love it!

Leave a Reply

