Foto Friday: Dear Me

A friend of mine posted this picture on facebook today.  It was taken during my freshman year in college… almost 11 years ago.  

18This picture makes me think of a lot of things:  Yeah, I look *super* young… and there’s a poster of Leonardo DiCaprio on the wall.  And, wait… is that stereo on CINDER blocks?  

More than the nostalgia factor, though, it makes me remember how much I loved college… and how “green” I was back then.  What would I I change if I knew then what I know now?  Don’t get me wrong– I had a *great* college experience.  But I definitely would’ve done things differently.

Dear Cari, age 18:

Enjoy college.  Even though it might not always seem like it, these are some of the best years of your life.  

  • Don’t get too hung up on what you’re “missing” back home.  Those friends will always be there.
  • Don’t be afraid to try new things– no one is judging you. 
  • Don’t stress out too much– it’s just school.
  • Don’t worry too much about what looks good on a resume– the ‘real world’ isn’t all it’s cracked up to be.
  • Don’t give up your friends for some guy.  Go to the party instead. It will last longer.
  • But don’t go to that party at Purdue.  Trust me–it’s not going to be fun.

Seriously, have fun.  You’re gonna miss it someday.

Love,
Cari, age 29 (almost 30-for real!)

P.S:  Ryan and Jo totally fall in love and get married.  Seriously…. just give it time.

4 responses to “Foto Friday: Dear Me

  1. I loved this! I’ve actually got a draft of a letter to me written on wordpress right now…just haven’t had the time to finish it!

    The first thing I noticed in the picture was the large Leo poster in the background…. :)

  2. I think that this is great…..I looked at the pics and oh it takes me back to college. So young, so naive, and so worried about things that were a waste of emotions!!

    Thanks for sharing!

    Angela

  3. Love it. . . and love your P.S. :)

  4. thanks for sharing this cari….

    (LOL, from KSMCK)

Leave a Reply

