30 Years Young

“I still remember… when 30 was old”– Strawberry Wine, Deana Carter.

That lyric has been running through my head a lot lately.   Mostly because I’m now 30.  Yes, THIRTY and I don’t feel old at all.  Well, maybe a little due to the excessive eating and drinking of the last 30 days.   But I don’t feel old.  Or responsible.  Or even really that grown-up.

If you would’ve asked me at 20 where I thought I’d be in 10 years, I’m sure I would’ve said married with at least one kid and living ANYWHERE but Illinois. I think back to some of the goals I set for myself.  I wanted to be a manager/director by the time I was 30.  That didn’t happen.  I wanted to travel to all 50 states.  I fell short of my mark.  But, you know what??  I’m okay with that.

My life has taken so many twists and turns in the last decade, but one thing has remained constant:  I have an incredible network of friends, family, and co-workers.  The fact that  I could even get this many people to hang out with me for my birthday is fairly impressive.   I have a dog who loves me, a house of my own, and a job I am comfortable in.  Who cares if my life doesn’t look like I thought it would?  It’s exactly where I need to be right now.

When I was little, I saw a story on TV about Madonna turning 30.  I told my mom that she should just retire ‘cuz rock stars aren’t allowed to be old.   And 30 was ancient.   Now that I’m 30, I have no desire to be a rock star, but I feel like I can do anything.

Here’s to the next decade being as fun as the last!

3 responses to “30 Years Young

  1. i always think of the alan jackson song remember when- the part that goes “remember when, 30 felt so old, now looking back, it’s just a stepping stone, to where we are, where we’ve been, said we’d do it all again”.
    30’s not so bad. happy bday!

  2. In your 30’s you can finally take everything that you learned in your 20’s and relax and enjoy life. There is so much growing and changing in your 20’s and I feel like in my 30’s I have taken all of those lessons and really applied them to my life. It doesn’t mean I’m “grown up” – I still don’t feel that way….it just means I’m much smarter about life.

    I love the Alan Jackson lyric….it’s the perfect way to look at your thirties!

    Have fun!

  3. I too used to think that turning 30 was O-L-D. But now that I’m here…..I don’t think that at all. There is still so much for us enjoy in life!

Leave a Reply

