Soba-licious

I know what you’re thinking– this isn’t a cooking blog.   And you’re right.  It’s not.  And I’m no expert chef, either.  But I love soba noodles.  And I feel the need to share this love with the world!

 Soba is just another term for buckwheat.  So, it’s just buckwheat pasta, about the same size as regular spaghetti.  Soba can be served hot or cold and are usually used in salads and soups, but I like it in stir-fry.

I’m not sure how good these noodles would be with traditional red or white sauce and they’re probably too “weird” for picky kid eaters, but they’re super easy to make and are ready in no time, so give ’em a try!

The color and texture take a little getting used to.  The noodles are a weird brown/almost black color and are kinda grainy, but if you eat whole wheat pasta, you’re probably already used to the texture.   The taste isn’t over-powering, but it’s a little nuttier/earthier than traditional noodles.  It has more depth and the noodles are good at soaking up other flavors, which is probably why they’re often used in soups.

One package of noodles is enough to make a week’s worth of stir-fry for me.  They’re ready in about 6-8 minutes.  While they’re boiling, I just sautee some garlic and onions in a big pan or wok, add whatever veggies I have on hand (this time it was red and green peppers and broccoli), add the noodles and some soy sauce (or teriyaki–whatever you like)  and voila–lunch/dinner for a week. 

Here’s what the package looks like.  You can get them at Strawberry Fields in Urbana and I’m sure any “health” store or Whole Foods carries them.  I haven’t seen them at County Market or Schnuck’s, but I might have looked in the wrong place!

100_22231

And a shot of me reheating the noodles in my wok. I didn’t think to take pictures when I *made* the stir fry earlier this week. (This is probably 1/4 of the total amount I made!)

100_2224

 

And the finished product!!
(I would usually use a bowl, but I thought the plate was a prettier presentation–anything for the blog. lol)

100_2232

Some fun soba facts :

  • Soba noodles are a traditional New Year’s Eve dish in Japan
  • Instead of bringing bread or baked goods over, Japanese families bring soba noodles as housewarming gifts

Also, anyone have a recipe for an easy, but “nice” dessert I can serve with Italian food?  All I can think of is tiramisu and I don’t really like it that much.  Plus, it’s kind of a pain.  

Suggestions?

2 responses to “Soba-licious

  1. Never really used Soba before but that looks delish! I’ll have to give it a try sometime.

  2. Big fan of this entry :)

Leave a Reply

