I did it!

Yes, folks… I finished my first 5K and now I’m addicted.  It was like riding a roller coaster.  As soon as the race was over, I wanted to go again.

I was slow, finishing in just over 36 minutes.  I got really caught up in the “race day” atmosphere and I never really got into a good groove.  Although I think the adrenaline pushed me on, I definitely missed the solitude of my training runs.

And not to toot my own horn or anything, but there’s something really satisfying about setting a goal and accomplishing it.  Just a week ago, I wasn’t certain I’d finish.  But once I built up my confidence, I knew I would.

All in all, awesome day!  It was so great to see so many people out there. It’s funny because running is such a solitary sport, yet it becomes so very social on race day.  I was thrilled to finish and thrilled I got to run with one of my very best friends.

Clennon and I post-race

Clennon and I post-race

Until next time…

5 responses to “I did it!

  1. Congrats! I think it’s great that it all went so well for you. Do you have any pics?

  2. Yay! Congrats!!!

    My time was not that stellar either, but I SHATTERED my previous 5k record when I got cramps by over 10 minutes so I was very pleased. :)

    I was just so excited to run the whole thing and finish seeing how crappy I am at this! I think I definitely get the race day excitement b/c this was how I felt at the rodeo run! I never felt that good training!

    I think I need to sign up for more races so I stick with it. . . but when it gets suffocatingly hot in Houston. . . all bets are off!

    Hope they do it next year. . . count me in! :)

  3. Congrats again! What a great accomplishment! Clennon looks SUPER tan in this pic!

  4. Pingback: The one where she talks about running… again « Carich Blogs

Leave a Reply

