#3

Yesterday was the Second Annual Run4Raley, an event put on by a local family who lost their daughter to mitochondrial disease last year.  (Read more and donate at run4raley.com).

As you may recal, I participated last year as a walker (and a biker… see this post), but this year I signed up to run!

I knew I was going to run the race for a while, but I haven’t been training AT ALL.  In fact, I haven’t been doing much of anything for the last 4 or 5 weeks, so I was VERY concerned about my fitness level.  I managed to get 3 runs in last week, so I knew I wouldn’t DIE… but that’s about it.

The race was good… not too hot ( a blessing for August) and there were lots of people there I knew.   I was a little intimidated by the small number of runners, though. The other races I’ve done have been MUCH larger, and I was afraid I might come in last.

By the time the race started, I felt GREAT.  I told myself to stay slow, run my own race and just to finish.   I started off pretty strong.  I reasoned with myself that if I could keep the “pack” in my eyesight, I would guarantee that I wouldn’t come in last.  About a mile in, the pack had thinned, but there were a few runners who were at or near my pace.

There was one woman who was doing a run/walk method. It quickly became clear that she and I were running at about the same pace.   After the half-way turn, this started to psyche me out a bit.  I was getting winded and hot and my legs actually started to hurt (this never happens), so I decided at about the 2 mile mark that I could probably replicate her walk/run and maintain my current pace.   I walked with her for ONE of her walking segments and then started running again.

After a couple of intervals of this,  I realized that a) her pace was actually a lot FASTER than mine and b) the start-stop wasn’t working for me.   Plus, there was NO WAY I was going to have my friends see me WALK at the end… so I finished strong.   And you know what?  My overall time was almost a MINUTE better than my last 2.  Yeah!

I’ve been bitten by the running bug again… Some things I learned:

  • I really need to learn to start off slowly.  My first mile was WAAYYY too fast to maintain for the entire run. MUST.LEARN.PACING.
  • As much as I loved supporting this cause, I need to look for courses that are more interesting.  Out-and-back on a country road was pretty BO-ring.
  • It really does help having people at the finish line cheering you on.  This was the first time I actually KNEW the people cheering and it was a big help.
  • I need cuter running clothes (see below)

Run4Raley

6 responses to “#3

  1. Yay for you – nice job! I am disappointed that we had to miss the race again this year but it sounds like it was a success.

  2. What? P-town has no scenery? ;)

    Again, good work!

  3. Way to go!!!! I’m so proud of how far you’ve come. You are my inspiration.

  4. Great job, Cari!! You know how much I hate running so I really admire you for jumping in and doing that race like that.
    Awesome!

Leave a Reply

