Compliments

I’m having kind of a crappy week.

There’s really nothing wrong, per se.  I just haven’t really gotten back into the swing of things after vacation and my friend’s wedding (more on that later… promise).  Plus, the weather has been kinda funky and I’m re-adjusting to living alone again (upside: more time for blogging!)

When I’m feeling yucky-for-no-reason, I like to think about all the nice things people have said to me.   Sure, we all like to hear that we’re smart and good-looking, but there are a few things people have said to me that have “stuck.”  In fact, I have a list:

  • After telling a friend that I’d signed up for a writing class he said: “you’re such a do-er.”  I took that as a compliment. I like being thought of as a do-er (as opposed to a “thinker” or a “complainer” or a “dreamer” I suppose).
  • My co-worker Janet told me that she thinks I’m “one of those people who is out to change the world.”  I like that, too.
  • My boyfriend told me that my friends are lucky to have me in their lives and that I’m one of the most genuine people he has ever met. He also said I have nice ankles.  He was joking about the ankles.  I hope he wasn’t joking about the first part!
  • One friend called me the best writer she knows.  Another tagged me in a facebook thing-y as the smartest person she knows.  I don’t know about best or smartest, but I like that people think I’m capable.
  • About a million people told me I looked good in the pictures from the wedding.  I’m not going to lie– that made me feel good, superficial or not!

UPDATE: I remembered two more:   1) someone once called me charming, which I think is a great word AND a great compliment  b) someone also once told me that I was very well put-together.  I disagree, but I’ll take it!!

Giving someone a genuine, heartfelt compliment is hard sometimes. It’s hard to know what will touch people and what will come off as insincere.

What are the best compliments you’ve ever received?

(and, please, this isn’t a Cari Pity Party post, I’m not fishing for compliments myself.  Seriously)

4 responses to “Compliments

  1. Even though you are not fishing for compliments, I will tell you that you looked great in the wedding pictures, and when my mom called on Sunday, she said how great you looked. So there. Add that one to the pile! :)

    I’m having a blah week, too. My work and home are wrecks. I’m tired, and my patience is LOW! :|

  2. Thanks, Hannah. I *think* I saw your mom at the wedding, but I never made it over there to say hi.

    It’s hard to talk to everyone, and I was just a bridesmaid. I can’t imagine what it’s like for the bride and groom!

  3. “Hi:

    Two things

    1) I’d like your permission to (re)print your article on “Mad Men”
    for our website

    2) I was hoping we could use your ‘scribing’ talent for our website.

    The Best Shows Youre Not Watching (dot) com [all one word]

    ‘The Clone Wars’ is one of our featured shows. We’re hoping to round up a few people who can occasionally contribute perspective (via an article/blog) on the shows – maybe a recent episode, future direction, plot shortcomings etc.

    What’s in it for you?
    Primarily a larger audience back channeled to your blog. We don’t pay but the site has a lot of promise and we’re pretty excited about getting it off the ground. Let me know what you think.

    Thanks

  4. i’m not sure if this is a real comment or just link spam. i checked out the web site and it seems legit. if you’re seriously interested email me: cari [underscore] rich at yahoo [dot] com.

Leave a Reply

