Foto Friday: New York, New York

These pictures were taken on my first trip to NYC in March 2002, almost 6 months to the day after 9/11/01.   (and, yes, were taken with a film camera!)

We landed in New York the day that President Bush declared war and the mood in the City was understandably somber.   Although it was a work trip, we managed to hop a subway and go down to Ground Zero one afternoon.

Ground Zero: big open hole

Ground Zero: big open hole

A memorial wall near the site

A memorial wall near the site

memorial plaque for those who lost their lives

memorial plaque for those who lost their lives

close up of some of the photos/notes left by visitors

close up of some of the photos/notes left by visitors

Eight years later, these events are starting to feel like “history” to some of us.  Let’s not forget what it felt like then, in hopes that we never have to go through it again.

I dusted off my old Tribute to Heroes CD this morning.  I still like this Alan Jackson song.  The part about watching I Love Lucy re-runs gets me every time.  I don’t know why, but that’s the saddest part for me.

2 responses to “Foto Friday: New York, New York

  1. RIP for all of them too

  2. I went to ground zero for the first time several years after 9/11. . . and I did not expect that I would have a meltdown so long after the fact, but I totally did. I was looking at homemade memorials, and all the sudden, I was SOBBING. My poor mother had to get me the hell out of the area. I was really surprised at the effect it had on me so long after. . . and I cannot believe it’s been eight years.

Leave a Reply

