Top 10 Albums

Whitney Matheson of USA Today’s Pop Candy blog asked this question of her readers:  “”What are 10 CDs you can’t live without?”

As I started making my list, I quickly realized that most of them are older– CDS from high school or college.  Sadly, this is a direct result of digital music. I simply don’t listen to full  albums any more!  I also decided I would need to set some parameters for myself if I was going to whittle my list down to a paltry 10 albums.

  • No Greatest Hits or Boxed sets.  That’s too easy*.
  • Titles have to be entire albums I can’t live without.  The kind I can listen to from start to finish, not just those I listen to for a couple of songs and skip the rest.
  • I couldn’t censor my list to make myself look cool

After much deliberation, here it is.  It’s imperfect (and in no particular order), but 10 is an awfully small number:

Jewel, Pieces of You
Sing-a-long songs at it’s best.  Contains “Sensitive,” the song I’d like to have as my theme song (also a great post on PopCandy)

Metallica, Metallica
From the very first note to the last guitar riff, this album is forever burned in my memory.  Great for letting off steam.

The Oak Ridge Boys Christmas
Cheesy?  Yes.  Overly sentimental?  Absolutely.  But completely necessary.  What else am I going to listen to at Christmas time?

REM, Automatic for the People
It’s funny because I’m not even sure this is my *favorite* REM album.  But I could listen to it every day and not get sick of it.
Perfect for contemplation.  And sleeping (that’s not meant to be an insult).

Tom Petty, Wildflowers
This is the one that made me institute the “No Greatest Hits” rule.   I thought about choosing TP and the HBs  Greatest Hits, but–instead– went with this solo album from the T. man himself.   Great lyrics. Great melodies.  Perfect for chilling out and singing along in the car (I assume they have cars in this fictional place I’m going with only 10 albums!)

Nirvana, Unplugged in New York
You expected Nevermind, didn’t you?  I thought about it.  But Unplugged
has much more variety.  And I like the stripped-down production better on this.  I certainly couldn’t live without Nirvana, right?

Juno Soundtrack
This is the only recent album on my list.  It might be the last full album I bought (albeit in digital format).  Again, the variety keeps me coming back and there’s plenty of Kimya Dawson to keep me smiling.

Sheryl Crow, The Globe Sessions
Another great sing-along CD.  Certainly not her most popular album, but I find myself listening to it all the time.  Sheryl doesn’t get enough credit for her clever songwriting.

Eric Clapton, From the Cradle
This is Eric Clapton’s compilations of blues covers and it’s how I fell in love with blues guitar.   This is by far the sexiest album I own.  I’ll take Clapton over Barry White or Marvin Gaye any
day!

Zakk Wylde, Book of Shadows
This is one of those albums I *never* would’ve listened to if it wasn’t for someone else making me.  I drove to Yellowstone and back listening to this CD.  And I still can’t get enough of it.  Good for those moodier days!

Looking over this list, I can’t say that these are my absolute favorite artists, or even that this accurately represents my taste in music.  But I think I would be able to survive with these 10 albums**.  I wouldn’t want to, but I could probably do it!

———-

*You probably noticed there are some “compilation” albums on this list.  True, but they’re not the same as a Greatest Hits or box sets.  They’re my rules. I can draw the line in the sand where I want to!

** Honorable Mentions go out to: The Forrest Gump Soundtrack,   The Chronic by Dr. Dre, BloodSugarSexMagic by the Red Hot Chilli Peppers,Celebrity Skin by Hole, Sublime, Tragic Kingdom by No Doubt and Grave Dancers Union by Soul Asylum.  (Yes, I told you there was a lot of stuff from the 90’s!)

One response to “Top 10 Albums

  1. We are music soulmates! ; )

Leave a Reply

