Bloggity Bloggity Boo

I’m going to stop apologizing for not posting more often.  To paraphrase a popular book/movie title:  I’m just not that into it.

But, since you’re all dying to know what I’m up to, here’s the rundown:

  • Halloween— I was going to do a Foto Friday each day this month of my favorite costumes from prior years.  But, well, I didn’t.   Look for one soon.  Maybe.   I’m working on my costume for this year.  Last year I was lame and didn’t dress up.  This year I’m dressing up, but I don’t have any definite plans, so my costume might be lame.  Whatever.

  • Family stuff–  Last weekend we threw a shower for my sister-in-law. It was fairly low-key but I think she got lots of stuff.  There were LOTS of babies there.  We figured out that out of the 7 “kids” in my mom’s family, 6 of them will have a new grandchild this year.  Yowzah!!   I’ll post pictures if I ever get any (I am still sans camera).After the shower my friend Kelly and her two kids stayed with me overnight.  It was the first time I had youngsters at my house.  It was fun and I  survived!

  • Running-–  I made it one full week on my new program and then completely fell off the wagon.  I started back yesterday.  I was hoping to run a race in late November, but it is already full, so I’m looking at one on Nov. 1.    There’s a 10K option and a 5K option. I can’t decide which to do.  I won’t “technically” be done with my 10K program by then… but maybe if I sign up for it, I’ll have the motivation to kick it into high gear?   Or should I just do the 5K and work on getting a better time.  (note: Nov 1 is the day after Halloween and thus far my longest run is only 4 miles.)Oh, and I still haven’t bought my “rewards” for the last 5K. I’m thinking of getting an iPhone instead of a sports watch.  They have apps for running PLUS it has a camera and I’ve wanted one for a long time.
  • Friends– I have another wedding in November. The bride’s sister had a super fun couples shower a couple of weeks ago complete with HILARIOUS scavenger hunt and newlywed game.  Alas–no pix of that either.   The bachelorette party is in a couple of weeks.  Hopefully I’ll be able to take pix by then.   Posts without photos are just no fun!
  • Pop Culture stuff— Besides running (or not) and planning parties, I just watched the entire season of Warehouse 13.  Good, not great– Kinda like an Xfiles/Alias mixture with some Star Wars references mixed in.  The first season just ended, but I’ll probably watch next season.  I’ve also been catching up w/Glee on Hulu.  Hopefully I can start watching in real time this week.   This week’s Mad Men (which I just watched yesterday) had me dumbfounded.    I’ve been trying to watch Season 2 of True Blood, but I have to rely on the kindness of others for that since I gave up HBO (damn economy!)   I also watched the Rob Zombie movie House of a Thousand Corpses this weekend.   It wasn’t as scary as I thought it would be.  Kinda reminded me of a Nine Inch Nails video. 
6 responses to “Bloggity Bloggity Boo

  1. please share some halloween costume ideas. i can’t seem to come up w/ a great one this year.

  2. Apparently I’ve already blogged about this a couple times. Here’s some old posts:

    https://carichblogs.wordpress.com/2008/10/31/foto-friday-happy-halloween/

    https://carichblogs.wordpress.com/2008/10/24/foto-friday-im-a-celebrity/

    I’ll try to do a costume Foto Friday this week and NOT include all of those…

  3. I say go for the 10K! It’ll be a fun goal to push for and it’s not like it’s a big deal if you have to do a bit of walking!

  4. Umm, I heard that one of your friends *might* be having a combo Halloween/Moving Party. Basically, you can get dressed up and help your friend move, there will be beer of course!

  5. Hey Cari,

    Thnx for ‘decloaking’ while visiting my turtles blog today. :) So glad you did! Yours is great fun to read, and who cares how often you post? It’s your darn blog, right?!

    Re: 10K vs 5K, well – you’ve got my story on that one.

    Re: True Blood – LOVE it! We even paid the cable co. an extra $12/month (and gave up something else) in order to watch each week this season. ha ha

    Re: youngsters in the house overnight – bravo! I’m an auntie to several, and I’m just AMAZED at the whole parenting thing… wow!

    Oh, and Halloween is my most fave holiday, so I’m looking forward to Foto Fridays! :)

    Glad to ‘meet’ you! Haven’t figured out where ‘cold’ is yet, but I’ll keep reading…

    Robin

  6. Champaign/Urbana, IL… About 3 hours south of Chicago… Home to the University of Illinois (I just realized I might not have that on my blog anywhere… weird.)

Leave a Reply

