What I learned on my first post-iPhone run

  • Ignorance is Bliss
    I downloaded a running ap* for my phone to keep track of time, distance, pace, etc.  I thought I needed it so I can work on my pacing.  Turns out I was checking it every 2.3 seconds and, therefore, never got into the “zone.”  It was kinda like my first 5K where I felt like I used up too much mental energy to enjoy it.
  • Knowledge is Power
    However, the ap confirmed what I already knew:  my pace is all over the place (rhyme time!).  I was running anywhere from 8:30 min/mile to almost 15.  Yes, almost 15… I can walk that (and did last night).   Maybe periodic pace checks are more reasonable.

  • Armband is necessary
    Definitely going to need to invest in an armband if I decide to continue running with my phone.  Tonight I carried my phone in my hand and had my iPod on my hip (as usual… classy, I know!).    Although my pink iPod and my pink iPhone were color coordinated, it wasn’t comfortable to run with the phone in my hand.  And I kept turning on and off the “map” function.  Plus, maybe having it on my arm will keep me from peaking too much.

  • There’s no such thing as an “easy” run when you have a belly full of junk
    I usually run in the mornings on an empty stomach.  Today, I chose to sleep in and I ran after work.  It has been perfect weather here and I only had a 2 miler on the schedule, so I was excited for a nice, relaxing run.  Unfortunately, I filled up on junk all day today and I could feel it while I was running.   Must.Eat.Healthier.   Maybe if I tell myself that losing 10 lbs will help my running, I’ll actually do it.  We’ll see.

All in all it was a pretty crappy run, but I get to put a check in the “done” column… plus, I got a blog post* out of it!

———–

* for you runners/walkers/iphone junkies out there– i’m looking for ap recommendations!

**anyone notice that as soon as I said I was “over” blogging, I started posting more often.  figures.

4 responses to “What I learned on my first post-iPhone run

  1. i’m the opposite of you…i like to run later in the day/at night. i feel like my body is too tight in the morning when i wake up. plus i like to sleep.

  2. When I first got my Garmin I was checking it ALL the time too and it totally screwed up my rhythm. But then I got used to it and barely even check it anymore!!

    Your pace might have to do with going uphill and downhill too, maybe? My pace is all over the place too! Haha

  3. One of my friends got sweat in his iphone running and destroyed it. . . be careful! (Maybe that’s hard to do. . . idk. . . I just remember he warned me about running with my ipod touch). . .

  4. Hannah– welcome back! I’m hoping that with the case, screen guard, AND arm band, I’ll be covered from sweat-related injuries.

    Now, dropping the d@mn thing and breaking it is a whole other story!!

Leave a Reply

