Ignorance is bliss

After an over-long hiatus due to injury, work trip and Thanksgiving, I’m now officially back in the running game.   I decided to pick up at week 5 on my training plan and just go from there.

For the most part, the week went well. I hit (or almost hit) all my scheduled distances AND managed to fit in both days of cross training (including a Cycle class that totally kicked my a$$) and two days of physical therapy.   So I didn’t feel too bad about going out both nights this weekend and putting off my long run until today.

I *totally* procrastinated on the long run, though.  The schedule called for 4.5 miles, which is longer than any of my previous runs… and I haven’t rum more than 3 miles in over a month.

Instead of focusing on the distance, I decided I would just go out and run for an hour–not worry about distance at all.  I put on Hayes Carll, laced up my shoes and took off.  I ran a slightly different route, so I wasn’t fixated on how far it was from point A to point B.   I figured the album would last about an hour.   When all the songs were done, I felt great.  So I decided to keep going.  I was getting close to home, so I challenged myself to run all the way to my front door.  And I did.

When I got home and Google Mapped my run… it was 5.6 miles!  Which is over a mile longer than scheduled and WAAAYYYY longer than I’d ever run before.  I felt great.  And my overall pace wasn’t bad, either.

By focusing on how I felt and not fixating on being “fast” or going “far” I was able to clear some of the mental hurdles I’ve had in the past.  I guess ignorance really is bliss sometimes.

2 responses to “Ignorance is bliss

  1. Whoa! Great job!!!

  2. WOW! You go girl!

Leave a Reply

