The one where she talks about running… again

It’s OFFICIAL:  I’m training for a half-marathon.

I’ll be running the half distance of the Illinois Marathon on May 1.   This is the same race where I had my first 5K a year ago.  Nothin’ like adding another 10 miles, eh?

I’m in week four of a plan modeled after Hal Higdon’s novice plan.   The plan seems fairly doable.  3-4 runs/week plus some cross training and some strength mixed in.  If all goes as planned, I’ll be at 13.1 about a month before the race.   For the most part, things have been going well.    I’ve been getting my runs in and have been fairly successful with cross training.  (strength?  not so much)

Until Tuesday.

I fully intended to get up early and go for a short 2-mile run.  Instead, I talked myself into staying in bed a bit longer (it was my birthday, after all) and promised to get back on track the next day.

Wednesday morning my alarm went off at 5 a.m.   I begrudgingly tore myself out of bed and got ready to run.  It was really dark, kinda cool, and there was a threat of snow so I headed to the gym instead.  Big mistake.  I let myself quit after 2 miles. I wasn’t tired. I wasn’t sore. I was just BORED.  And couldn’t talk myself into going longer.

Afterward, I was really disappointed in myself for giving up.  And then that night I went out with some friends and missed my next morning run because I was hungover (note to self:  drinking and running do not mix).

But, guess what?  I went for an outside run on Thursday after work… and it was GREAT!    I’ve got my running mojo back.

This weekend: 6 miles.  Let’s pray for one day of decent weather so I don’t have to sweat it out on the treadmill.

2 responses to “The one where she talks about running… again

  1. Congrats on deciding to do the half! I think I may be doing the Rock N’Roll Chicago Half in August (still working out the details on that one being as how I wasn’t completely sober when I made the bet to do it).

  2. Good for you!! You’re going to rock it! I’ve used Hal Higdon’s plans a couple times – and plan on using one of his plans for my full in the fall – they’re great at easing you in at just the right speed!

    Don’t beat yourself up for missing a few runs, instead celebrate the runs that you DO go on!

    Good luck with 6 miles this weekend!!

Leave a Reply

