Are you ready??

As the Illinois Marathon (and half-marathon…which I’m running)quickly approaches, I’ve been getting the same question over and over:  Are you ready??

Truth is:  I’m not.   Although I’ve been training since mid-January (I’ll have to look up the exact date), I don’t feel ready.  

I’d like to tell myself to “trust in my training,”  but I don’t feel like I’ve had the most successful training cycle– I missed a couple long runs, shortened some of my mid-week runs and haven’t really felt on for a while now.   Many of my long runs start off strong and then peter out near the end.    Even some of the shorter ones have been less-than-stellar. 

I’ve been running 3 or so times a week and getting plenty of cross-training via derby, but I just don’t feel ready.   Although I still enjoy running, I enjoy derby more and have been focusing a lot of my time on that the last few weeks (more on derby later, I promise!)

By now, I had hoped to be up to the full 13 miles, but I’m not.  I did “10” last weekend.  I put 10 in quotes because it was technically just 9.58… and I took a 2-min walk break at mile 6 and slowed down for some stop lights.  This is analagous to the advice they give about slowing down/walking through water stops, but I think I’d be much more confident if I had a full 10 mi of RUNNING under my belt.   

I’d hoped that by running a 10K a couple weeks ago, it would decrease my race anxiety… but I think it only made it worse.  There’s NO REASON for me to take walk breaks in a 6 mi run, yet I did.   I hope I don’t give up that early in the half.    I’d like to finish in a respectable time (right now, “respectable” is looking like 2:30:00… sad, I know!), but I dont’ want to get so hung up on time that I psyche myself out.

I don’t want to waste all of these weeks of training by burning out in the end, so I’m hoping for a few solid runs this week and I’m going to try 13 on Sunday– even if I have to take some scheduled walk breaks. 

So much of running is mental and I know if I let the “what if’s” into my head, I’ll be DOA.  But with my recent setbacks, it’s hard to keep them at bay.   I’m hoping I’ll get a little push from the race day adrenaline… and so far the forecast seems doable.  But my nerves are definitely cranked up to 11 for this one. 

I MUST do this…  Wish me luck!  

(Just don’t tell me that I’ll do “fine.”  I’ve heard that so many times and it’s about to make me pull my hair out!)

3 responses to “Are you ready??

  1. Please note that I will be WALKING this year. My mom, aunt, and I were going to run.

    My aunt is having breathing issues and is going to the doctor to see if she had asthma or something. . . and I just plain suck at life and am working all hours of the day and night.

    I told my aunt I’d walk with her. 1) because, I don’t think I’d be able to run the whole thing. . . and 2) because I think it will be fun to hang out with my aunt, who I don’t see often enough.

    We are hoping to not be last and are willing to run off and on to not be last. :)

    GOOD LUCK, CARI! I know you can do it! I’m so proud of you for sticking to this plan! I would love to say that I can do a 1/2 at some point. . . but I am not sure that I’m cut out. Kudos to you!

  2. Wille Humper

    You’ll do fine.

  3. Welcome to the land of nerves. You will finish the race even if it’s hard. In fact, there will certainly be parts that are hard. But no matter what your final time is, be proud that you set the goal and achieved it.

    It’s a long story about why I’m running the Kenosha race and not the Illinois one. Hopefully I can run the Illinois one next year. I was so bummed that they are on the same day.

Leave a Reply

