Foto Friday: Dressing my best

As I mentioned in my last post, I’m participating in academicchic’s Dress Your Best week.  To tell the truth, I haven’t been dressing my best this week.  I’ve barely even put on make-up.  But Monday night I had to have my picture taken for our derby bout program.  The instructions were clear:  wear a black top.  Any black top.

photo by Alex Wild

(In reverence to academic chic, I’ll use their standard format for this photo)

Sources:

  • top: Gap Outlet ribbed tank
  • jeans: Gap, distressed
  • bracelet: CDH awareness

Endnotes:

The instructions were clear: wear a black top.  Any black top.  I chose this ribbed tank top from the Gap to highlight one of my favorite “features”:  my skin.   Granted, a lot of it has to do with the amazing lighting and photography, but I just love the contrast of my pale skin with the black top in this picture.   I also love how *much* of my skin  you can see…without being too risqué.

I’ve had a love/hate relationship with my skin over the years.  I’m pale.  I *can* tan, but it takes a lot of time and effort (and sunburns).  I’ve often felt self-conscious about being so pale.  I’ve tanned, self-tanned, spray-tanned, etc. in an effort to combat my pastiness.  (Hannah had an interesting post about the same subject yesterday.) None of these things are pleasant, nor do they last long, so I’ve learned to embrace my skin for what it is.

I mentioned in my last post that I asked my fb friends to name the one complement they get most often.  My answer was my skin/complexion.  Ever since I was young people have been telling me I have a good complexion.  Even before I really knew what that meant.

I was lucky enough as a teenager to escape the severe acne problems of some of my peers.  Not that I had perfect skin back then, but it was better than most.  Now that I’m “older” I often hear that I look younger than I am.   I haven’t (yet) had the struggles with lines and wrinkles other people of my advanced age (31) have had to contend with.

Pale is the new tan and today I’m celebrating my skin…  and good lighting… and amazing photography

3 responses to “Foto Friday: Dressing my best

  1. Nice photo! You do have great skin… and I like your jeans. :-)

  2. Your skin is lovely! I have pale skin too and always wanted to be tan when I was in high school and college, but now I love my pale skin that freckles in the summer and turns pink when I am embarrassed and bright red when I’m too hot or too cold.

    You should also be celebrating your great arms in this outfit!
    A.

  3. Pingback: Dress Your Best Round Up, Part I: Big and Small : academichic

Leave a Reply

